The Canterbury Murders

By EM Powell

The Canterbury Murders (Stanton & Barling, #3)

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

My Review

Review of The Canterbury Murders (Stanton & Barling, #3)
Rating
1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars[ 5 of 5 stars ]
Shelves read edit
Format Kindle Edition edit
Status
November 3, 2020 – Finished Reading2 Show more
Review I had the pleasure & privilege to receive an Advance Review Copy of The Canterbury Murders. What a treat.
Medieval murder mystery
Brilliant Who dounit
Gripping
Well written
Excellent read
Santon & Barling whilst on a pilgrimage to Canterbury are drawn into another case & murder to solve.
The Archbishop & Prior task Barling to quickly solve the strange murder, Barling sets to the task in his usual methodical way
Things are not as they seem, tension arises between Santon & Barling the Prior adds more pressure as the body count rises.
You are left wondering who is the murderer, and try to understand whom it could be hints, glimpses, snippets, and possible scenario from in your mind as you read this excellent book….
I will be honest I did not guess the murderer… Which is GREAT, I did wonder about one character, whom I decided could be but nope I was wrong

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s